Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

JULIET THE MANIAC

Juliet Escoria

  • Original Title: JULIET THE MANIAC
  • Publication date: May 2019
  • Publisher: Melville House
  • Country: US
  • 336 print pages
  • Drama

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: United States
  • Themes: PEOPLE facing life, Reinventing oneself, Coming of age, Life change, Facing failure, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Psychological dysfunction, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Social relations, Tolerance

Pitch

A portrait of a young teenager's fight toward understanding and recovering from mental illness.

Comments

Voted MOST ANTICIPATED NOVEL of 2019 by both Bustle and Nylon

"For fans of Ottessa Moshfegh, JULIET THE MANIAC is a worthy new entry in that pantheon of deconstruction... Dazzling."—New York Times Book Review

Debut novel

Juliet Escoria is the author of the poetry collection WITCH HUNT and the story collection BLACK CLOUD.

Summary

A highly anticipated debut—from a writer hailed as "a combination of Denis Johnson and Joan Didion" (Dazed)—brilliantly captures the intimate triumph of a girl's struggle to become the woman she knows she can be.

Ambitious, talented fourteen-year-old honors student Juliet is poised for success at her Southern California high school. However, she soon finds herself on an increasingly frightening spiral of drug use, self-harm, and mental illness that lands her in a remote therapeutic boarding school, where she must ultimately find the inner strength to survive.

go further