Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE

Gill Thompson

  • Original Title: THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE
  • Publication date: December 2019
  • Publisher: HEADLINE PUBLISHING GROUP
  • Country: GB
  • 432 print pages
  • Drama

Information

  • Epoch: Historical
  • Time Period: 20th century, World War II
  • Location setting: Poland, United Kingdom
  • Themes: FAMILY, Siblings, Reconstituted family, Intergenerational, Separation, Adoption, Filiation, Mourning, PEOPLE facing life, Life choice, Death, Moral dilemma, Resilience, Double identity, Facing failure, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Survival, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Discriminations, War and other conflicts, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Multiculturalism, Commitment, Maternity, Racism, Totalitarian regime, LOVE / HATE, Destruction, Sex

Pitch

In 1930 in Prague, a young Jewish girl, Eva, is raped on her way home. A couple of years later, she marries a much older man and has a daughter, Miriam. When war comes, Eva sends Miriam to London, where she lives with Pamela, a Quaker woman, and her family.

Comments

Translation rights sold: Italy, Germany, Hungary, Norway, Portugal, Czech republic (at a 3 way auction), France, Spain. Option in China, and Russia.

Pitched for readers of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ Heather Morris, THE CHOICE Edith Eger and LILAC GIRLS Martha Hall Kelly.

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US (Headline, 2019), was a No. 1 digital bestseller.

Summary

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away - even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down.

Reports available

go further