Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

TEKLA

Christian Unge

  • Original Title: TEKLA
  • Publication date: April 2019
  • Publisher: NORSTEDTS FORLAGSGRUPP
  • Country: SE
  • 412 print pages
  • Crime fiction/Thriller

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: Sweden
  • Themes: PEOPLE facing life, Dependence, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Corruption, Search for the truth, Violence, Capitalism, Power, CHARACTERS, Strong Female Character

Pitch

A mystery thriller combined with Scandinavian social commentary, with a flawed set of characters, driven by the protagonist, Tekla, a talented ER doctor who has a photographic memory and is an addict, and who tries to figure out if a burn victim is her brother. A fantastic, immersive read full of police corruption and Russian mobsters.

Comments

Translation rights sold: Netherlands, Germany (2-book deal), Czech Republic, Poland, Czech Republic, World English, Iceland, Estonia

UK publishing rights sold to Christopher MacLehose at MacLehose Press in a nice deal, in a pre-empt, in a three-book deal, for publication in 2021.

Book #2, A GRAIN OF TRUTH, published in May 2020

Pitched in the vein of The Millennium Series, The Bridge, The Killing, or Easy Money, with a generous dash of James Patterson. Very filmic!

Scandinavian social commentary disguised as mystery thriller, with a flawed set of characters, driven by the protagonist, a young woman ER doctor who has a photographic memory and is an addict. Throw in police corruption, Russian mobsters, and economic changes for good measure.

Christian Unge is a senior physician at the Karolinska University Hospital in Stockholm, specializing in internal medicine. He has self-published three crime novels and runs a podcast about medicine. He has previously published IF I HAVE A BAD DAY SOMEONE MIGHT DIE (2018).

Summary

Book #1- PASS THROUGH THE WATERS

Tekla Berg works as an emergency physician at the Nobel Hospital in Stockholm. With her unorthodox and intuitive approach she copes well under pressure. She also makes bold decisions that may potentially jeopardize her career as well as the lives and health of the patients. What most of her colleagues don’t know is that Tekla has an uncanny sense for details – an intense photographic memory that is both a blessing and a curse. She desperately tries to control it through self-medicating with amphetamine.

But work is not the only thing on Tekla's mind. Her beloved brother Simon has mysteriously vanished, and her thoughts keep returning to her troubled childhood.

A massive explosion rips through an apartment building, causing a large fire, and puts the city on emergency alert. Everything points towards a potential terrorist attack with many casualties. Tekla is one of the first to arrive at the scene where she rescues a man with severe burns to his face and body. It is suspected that he may be among the terrorists, but there is also something eerily familiar about him, something that evokes her most private memories.

The fire causes a domino effect that will soon involve both the board at the hospital, the police as well as criminal elements. Not least the powerful patriarch Victor Umarov whose family empire is threatened by the events set in motion.

Reader 1 on a partial.
The Swedish partial is 118 pages, the English partial rather less at 99.
Book #2


go further

  • Author’s biography

    Christian Unge (born 1972), works as senior physician at the Karolinska University Hospital in southern Stockholm, specializing in internal medicine. He also runs a popular podcast about medicine. With his experiences from working as a doctor and doing research in Africa for Doctor’s without borders (MSF), he writes a series about the surgeon MARTIN ROEYKENS. His first novel, TURKANARAPPORTEN (THE TURKANA FILES), was self-published and sold more than 26,000 copies.